Character Tuesday: The Happiest Yoga Instructor

I took my camera to Abbotsford Convent on afternoon last fall in Melbourne. Practicing photography with my friends, we sat down to eat at Lentils As Anything, a vegan, pay-what-you-can buffet restaurant. The staff, who are all volunteers, are all ages and backgrounds, but often backpackers dressed in colorful, vintage clothes.

One waiter (pictured above) saw me taking photos and, despite his busy shift, posed for several shots. He was from Japan, but I can’t remember his name. After he posed, he invited us to his weekly pay-what-you-can yoga class on the lawn in the same convent. He smiled calmly as he walked with a lightness in his step and made each person feel welcome in his space.

The next week, I went back for his yoga class. When I looked around for me, the other volunteers told me he was at an immigration appointment. The next week, I left Melbourne, so I never got to his class.

This post is part of weekly series titled Character Tuesday, where every Tuesday I bring you a story about (a) unique individual(s) I’ve encountered. Like I always say, life can be good or bad, but as long as it’s entertaining, that’s all you need. This series is meant to celebrate our quirks and idiosyncrasies.

 

2 thoughts on “Character Tuesday: The Happiest Yoga Instructor

  1. AH. I have to go to this buffet. And darn! Would’ve been a great yoga class I’m sure!

    On Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 5:10 AM, Naptime With Yasmine wrote:

    > Allison posted: “I took my camera to Abbotsford Convent on afternoon last > fall in Melbourne. Practicing photography with my friends, we sat down to > eat at Lentils As Anything, a vegan, pay-what-you-can buffet restaurant. > The staff, who are all volunteers, are all ages and” >

    Me gusta

Responder

