2016 Photo Challenge: March

This post is the third of a 12-part photo challenge for 2016 to capture “personality” on the street. This challenge is inspired by  Valerie Jardin‘s podcast This Week in Photos: Street Focus, the episode “2016 Resolutions,” featuring Marco Larousse.

Remember how in January I practiced but I was scared, and in February I vowed to make March a month of much photography? Well, I failed. Not completely, but mostly. I took photos around three days this month.

Little practice for someone with much to learn can only mean…I haven’t improved? That is certain, and the other certainty lies in the fact that I don’t have many photos to choose from.There were better quality photos than the one I chose. However, I wanted to stay true to my theme: personality. If I didn’t see something entertaining, it didn’t qualify.

I was trying to practice photography on my way to see Becky Lucas at the Victoria Hotel in the CBD as part of the Melbourne Comedy Festival (I highly recommend her show! It was spectacular and had me not literally, but almost rolling over in laughter. I learned what “pash” means (making out) and about what reputation the people who sell The Big Issue really have).

A bar called Hairy Little Sista caught my eye. What an amazing name! How could I have not seen it before? And what an amazing thing to celebrate female body hair! I couldn’t let a name like this pass me by. I whipped out my camera and in no time someone behind me started laughing. He ran up in front of the camera and posed excitedly with the sign. “It’s a great sign!” I explained to him, “I couldn’t not take a photo!”

@Naptime with Yasmine. March PC
A man poses with the sign of the restaurant “Hairy Little Sista.”

He ran off with his female companion as I walked across the street to enter into the venue for the comedy show. It’s my only wish that the rest of his Thursday night was full of the same vigor as he showed me. I appreciate this man’s spontaneity and unabashed goofiness. If anything, it should give us all courage to photo bomb. You never know whose photo you’d end up in.

One thought on “2016 Photo Challenge: March

  1. I LOVE THIS SO MUCH. So much personality! This is my favorite photo yet of the photo series so I definitely think you’ve improved! You hairy little sista 😉

    On Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 8:54 AM, Naptime With Yasmine wrote:

    > Allison posted: “This post is the third of a 12-part photo challenge for > 2016 to capture “personality” on the street. This challenge is inspired by > Valerie Jardin‘s podcast This Week in Photos: Street Focus, the episode > “2016 Resolutions,” featuring Marco Larousse. Reme” >

    Me gusta

Responder

