Photo Friday: Safe Schools Protests

When I walk past the State Victoria Library, it’s common to see a rally or protest. Since I’ve been here, there have been several protests related to refugee rights.

Last Thursday, I had some time before going to a lecture at the Queen Victoria Women’s Centre and in attempts to escape from the rain was going to stop by and get a tea at Mr. Tulk.

Sadly Mr. Tulk was closed, but in passing the library I found an even better treat than a warm cup of tea: hundreds of passionate students and member of political organizations prepping for a rally regarding Safe Schools. I walked past a girl with brown curly hair and a jean jacket. A colleague of hers was taping a sign to her back that said “Fight Fees.”

“Looks great!” Her friend said to her as she finished taping the sign on. I asked about what they were here for. The girls gave me a quick run down of the situation and made a few remarks about what assholes the conservatives were. “Yeah, they think this program will turn students into pedophiles.”

©Allison Yates. Melbourne Safe schools 2

The protesters came out in the rain in support of Safe Schools, a program designed to protect LGBT students in schools from homophobic and transphobic bullying. Recently, the program has been under attack from conservative politicians, and Turnball ordered an investigation.

I walked around the side, observing those who came in attendance. Many were dressed in wigs, rainbow shirts and pins, decorations and costumes to show their support for an all-inclusive Australia.

I met some women from the group Radical Women, who invited me to their feminist book club in Brunswick. Count me in!

©Allison Yates. Melbourne Safe Schools

I wanted to stay for longer, but I was on my way to a panel discussion of activism at the Queen Victoria Women’s Centre. Ironic?

Read more about the protests and about the political situation regarding Safe Schools in this article from The Age.

One thought on “Photo Friday: Safe Schools Protests

Responder

