6 Favorite Cafes of Southeast Asia

Although we had some delicious meals, sometimes the atmosphere was more noteworthy than the food. Other times, a calming cafe can be the perfect thing to break up the monotony of a long journey or offer a break from the hustle of a big city.

Here are our 6 favorite cafes that we visited in Southeast Asia.

1- Cong Caphe

ALY_0331

Where: Hanoi, Vietnam
Why: This eclectic cafe was beautiful in an mysterious way. Kind of like the way I feel about colonial architecture: it’s stunning and picturesque, but I just can’t shake the image of British soldiers beating Indians, for example. In this post I describe Cong Caphe as “uncomfortable grey area between historical knowledge and a Saturday Night Live sketch.” If that doesn’t ward you a visit, I don’t know what would.

2- Unknown cafe

IMG_8686
This is what it looks like on the outside! GO!

Where: Hue, Vietam
Why: Right after visiting Hue’s famed Imperial City, we stopped in this cafe for some refuge from the irritating mist (not quite raining, yet moisture isn’t letting you be). This cafe was our favorite not for the decor, but for two very important reasons: 1) A little nugget who gives gifts, and 2) insanely good lemon ginger tea. I don’t care about the cockroaches; there was no tea that compared to its crispness. Maybe they put MSG in it? Wait, is that insensitive?

The staff was open, friendly and accomodating, even given the language barrier. It was a stark contrast to the never-ending requests we got for us to buy someone’s product or take a cyclo ride. It was on par with being asked to ride a boat in Hoi An.

3- Sister Srey

IMG_9013
It was from an Iphone, okay?

Where: Siem Reap, Cambodia 
Why: One day there will be a post without a mention of Sister Srey. We certainly couldn’t get enough of it when it was in our vicinity and now that I have free reign to write about whatever I want I certainly can’t stop talking about it.

Everything about this cafe (minus my doubts about the productiveness of training cafes) was perfection. The owners were present and clearly had excellent relationships with their staff. They were supportive and encouraging, and I loved seeing them interact. The food was spectacular, and the people watching was on point. Sitting at one of their picnic tables in the open air cafe, my sister and I watched street vendors, tourists, locals, motorbikes, bicycles, cars, and animals go past. It was the perfect place to write in a journal or just *be.*

4- I.D. Cafe

IMG_8807
Who can resist this floor-stool-wall combination? A designer’s dream! Not that I would know. I’m not a designer.

Where: Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam 
Why: When I got a look at those floors, I knew I was going to enjoy my drink. At this cafe, instead of my usual tea or latte, I jumped at a chance to try a local brewery’s beer. I had Pasteur Street Brewing Company‘s Jasmine IPA. Since I’m not beer expert I’m not going to describe it for you, but I will vouch for it and say it was delicious. We sat on the top level in a wide, open room with the windows open. We felt the breeze and could hear snippets of life below on the street.

5- Sip & Chew

IMG_8929

Where: Phnom Penh, Cambodia 
Why: Jennifer and I were greeted here by the very attentive and friendly staff. The bright atmosphere was calming. We sat at a table by the window and looked out onto the Tonle Sap river. We watched people pass, noticed the diversity of tourists and locals and watched the sunset. The green tea flavored cream puffs pictured above were delicious as well. This was a perfect cafe to reflect and digest our surroundings.

6- Cafe d’tist

cafe dtist
Jennifer and I ate breakfast with our lovely friend Patrick.

Where: Pai, Thailand
Why: Although Pai was a relaxing town on its own, Cafe d’tist was an exceptionally calming place. Pictured above, Jennifer, our friend Patrick and I sat in a bungalow and savored a yummy brunch. It was cool, breezy and had a fresh scent. The wifi here was of exceptional quality and the coffee sharp. There was soft music that was low enough to create a mood and high enough to eliminate the silence. Their sugar packets had inspiration phrases on them (see one of them in this post).

This is how I feel when I’m so happy to eat food or drinks from one of these delicious cafes.

finn.allison
FEED ME, FEEEEED MEEEEH

Featured photo: Happiness on the streets of Hanoi. 

Responder

