2016 Photo Challenge: January

This post is the first of a 12-part photo challenge for 2016 to capture “personality” on the street. This challenge is inspired by  Valerie Jardins podcast This Week in Photos: Street Focus, the episode “2016 Resolutions,” featuring Marco Larousse.  

My first month of the challenge was a lot different than I had imagined. To start off, I wasn’t able to go out and shoot because of work commitments and later a missing European converter for my charger. No battery, no camera.

When I finally got a chance to go out and shoot, I found myself paralyzed with fear. I would see what I imagined to be a perfect shot, and later avoid clicking the shutter. I was scared of confrontation and had never realized how much it would affect my ability to take photos. It was also the first time I practiced photography in my home country. When I’m traveling, everything I see seems exciting and different. Finding inspiration in the U.S. was much more difficult. I realized I relied much more on the “exoticism” of a new place instead of artistic talent.

Nevertheless, I’ve managed to find a photo for the purposes of this challenge. Below the photo of the month I’ve placed others I considered. Comments and criticisms welcome.

Photo of the Month

ALY_0173
Two women show their support at the Pride March in Melbourne, Australia.

 

While based on skill I don’t believe the photo of the month is of top quality, it fulfills the category “personality.” I took this photo at the Midsumma Pride March in Melbourne, Australia on January 31, 2016. These two women stood around after the parade and laughed and posed with attendees. They caught my attention because of their creative protest and colorful demeanor.

Other considerations:

IMG_1186
Break dancers perform in in the Central Business District of Melbourne, Australia.

On Saturday night, my friend and I were roaming around the CBD of Melbourne when we came across a group of street performers called Young Masters. They were an incredibly talented group of boys with immense strength. They were doing tricks I’ve never seen before. While they were amazing, I was more drawn to the two girls watching behind them. They have style and attitude, but what I loved was the juxtaposition of the enthusiasm in their style with the lack of enthusiasm for the incredible talent the boys had. Most of the performance, they looked bored out of their minds.

The following photo was taken during a walk around Midtown last week. I saw this truck driver smoking and playing something on his cell phone that was making me laugh. I wish I would have gotten closer and a better view of his face.

Processed with VSCOcam with b1 preset
A truck driver smokes a cigarette in Midtown.
6 thoughts on “2016 Photo Challenge: January

Responder

