El Camino De Santiago: Favorite Bathroom Signs: A Photo Story

As someone with an undeniably small bladder, I am the butt of jokes, the object of surprise, and the point of concern for people who are convinced I am over-hydrated, have an over-active bladder, or even diabetes.

As far as I’m concerned none of the above are issues. It’s just who I am.

That being said, my bladder issues mean that I see my fair share of bathrooms. Actually, I’ve probably spent most of my life either waiting for a bathroom, in a bathroom, or thinking about either of those.

That’s why I’ve learned to appreciate the minute details about them. A lavender soap, soft toilet paper, aesthetically-pleasing vintage wallpaper, and even the caliber of entertainment the books often on a table nearby the toilet provide are all points of appreciation.

While walking the camino, I would choose to do my business outside as much as possible (check out an upcoming post for more information), but if I was forced to use the toilet, or the  institutionalization of urination, I was pleasantly surprised to find very creative signs indicating the bathrooms (They were gender normative, but we can’t win them all).

bathroom sign
Men’s bathroom sign in the municipal albergue in Finisterre, Spain.
bathroom sign
Women’s restroom sign in the municipal albergue in Finisterre, Spain.
Male and Female bathroom signs in a bar in Galicia.
Male and Female bathroom signs in a bar in Galicia.
Men's restroom sign in a bar in Galicia.
Men’s restroom sign in a bar in Galicia.
bathroom sign
Women’s restroom sign at a bar in Galicia.
bathroom sign spain
“I’m a powerful career woman of the 80s. Now watch me go to the bathroom.”
Seen in Castilla y Leon, Spain.

These signs provided the entertainment and enjoyment as I was waiting for the bathroom. They have also inspired me to continue to be looking for creative signs and humorous depictions of our moments on the toilet.

Where have you seen the best bathroom signs? Tweet at me @yasminesoyyo!

12 thoughts on “El Camino De Santiago: Favorite Bathroom Signs: A Photo Story

Responder

