7 Things I Already Miss Most About Ibiza

I’ve officially moved from Ibiza. Nostalgia has hit me smack dab in the face. Writing from Barcelona right now, I look at photos and my eyes well up with tears. It was a year that I didn’t expect, and instead of being full of wild parties, it was full of important learning lessons.

From dogs slapping my ass and wild grandmothers to being confused my the island (there were also parties too!), the island never ceased to amaze me. I remember arriving and hearing people rave about the it. “It has a special energy,” they would tell me. They explained, “it will trap you in.”

I once picked up an Argentine hitchhiker on her way to work (totally normal in Ibiza, don’t freak out). She said, “this island will suck you in and spit you back up. And if you’re strong enough, will welcome you back in.”

I thought she was jive talking, and didn’t really have a reference to base her explanations off of. Until now, of course.

After just two days of being gone, I feel a void. A typically void that is common after having a positive experience in any place. But perhaps, just perhaps, my need for Ibiza is special and may warrant future visits.

In the midst of my nostalgia, here is the first post reflecting on the island: the 7 things I already miss the most.

1. Sobrasada

Sausages at the Medieval Fair in Ibiza. May 2015.
Sobrasada at the Medieval Fair in Ibiza. May 2015.

Sobrasada, a traditional sausage from Ibiza (also found in other Balearic Islands) had me hooked since the first day I tried it. Squeezing the mushy insides from a transparent casing and spreading it on traditional pan payes gives me almost as much joy as sleeping.

Even better? Put it in the oven for a 1-2  minutes after spreading it on the bread and see the orange tinted grease oozing over the bread, leaving an even more savory taste in your mouth.

2. Flaó 

flao
Perfection: Flao at El Bigote in Cala Mastella.

Originally used as a celebratory dessert around Easter, the cheesecake-like cake proved to be very addictive. The yerba buena added  gives a unique taste and refreshing lift (Try to make your own! Two recipes here and here).

Best served with cafe caleta after a long lunch in the sun. Best place to buy it in Ibiza? Forn Can Coves en Puig d’en Valls.

3. Pan amb alioli

el bigote ibiza
Payes bread, alioli, and olives at El Bigote in Cala Mastella.

Pan payes, alioli and olives on the side are excellent starters. Who cares about garlic breath, it’s irresistible. Any restaurant that doesn’t offer this at the beginning of the meal is a huge disappointment.

4. Podencos

podencos
Statues of Podencos In Santa Eulalia, Ibiza.

Also referred to as “those damn Ibiza dogs.” The first time I saw one, it was a domesticated creature with its owners around Ibiza Town. I immediately thought of the dog “Skeletor” in the movie 50/50. These dogs were said to have been brought to the Mediterranean by the Phoneticians. Just a few weeks ago along the Sant Josep highway I saw a pack of around 25 of them. Scared me half to death. You can also see a statue of them at the roundabout near the port in Ibiza Town.

podencos ibiza
Bad photo, but, I was trying to be a responsible driver. Carretera Sant Josep, Ibiza

5. Frigola

frigola
Photo: BalearesCulturalTours.net

A liquor common in the Balearic Islands made from thyme, its sweetness makes it better than yerbas ibicencas and its smoothness can even cure a sore throat. I love it so much, I have many times shared this love with my friends via whatsapp voice memos.

6. Puig d’en Valls

allison
My favorite city

Among friends, we refer to this small town outside of Ibiza Town as “The Puig” (pronounced, “the poooch”). It’s a place where ibicenco is spoken more than Spanish, and old women still stare at you when you walk into their grocery store. I had to pass by it every time I went into “the big city” and was entertained without fail.

7. The fact that everything about it is completely absurd

From the people who walk off the plane like they’re in an Estrella Damm commercial to old hippies screaming at you not to touch their things at various mercadillos around the island, it’s a confusing mix of people and happenings that can only be described as absurd. Every heard of cultural appropriation? They’re the queens of it! If you have a big house in Ibiza, chances are you have decorated it with between 25-37 giant golden Buddha statues. The fact that its inhabited by the most beautiful people I’ve ever seen makes up for it.


Regardless of the aburdity or the cultural appropriation or having it spit me out at times, Ibiza was everything they said it would be and more. It may seem cliche, stupid, and ridiculous, but believe me, it will be unforgettable in any way you allow it to be.

What do you miss about Ibiza?

7 thoughts on “7 Things I Already Miss Most About Ibiza

  1. HEY! I’ve been reading your posts about Ibiza because I’m going to be an auxiliar there starting this October. I’m pretty nervous and have no idea what to expect. Where did you teach in Ibiza? I’ll be in a small village called Sant Mateu d’Albarca, and I’m not sure where I should try to live. Seems like most people commute from Ibiza town. Just wanted to hear your opinions and get some advice on all of it!

    Loved reading your posts about the island!

    Me gusta

    1. Hey! I’m so glad you’ve read them and found them helpful!! And how exciting! You’re going to have a blast. As you’ve read, winter in Ibiza is awesome and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. I was in San Antonio. Since I au paired I was in the middle of the island, but besides myself and 2 others everyone lived in Ibiza town. I love San Mateo, that’s where the wine festival is, and most likely many of your teachers will commute from Ibiza town and you’ll be able to catch a ride from them or take a bus. Please let me know if there is anything you have questions about or anything else you’d like to hear about. What school do you have? I can see who had it last year and if you want you could chat with him/her?

      Le gusta a 1 persona

      1. I’m already excited for the wine festival! Thank you for giving me some direction on where I should start my housing search. I’ll be at CEIP Sant Mateu de Baix. I’d love more insight on the school and the previous aux’s experience because there’s literally no information online!

        Me gusta

      2. Hello!! I’m so sorry it took me so long, but no one has responded yet about having daughter at your school. I’ll let you know if someone says something. Otherwise, please feel free to ask anything or if anything comes up I’ll try to connect you with someone if I can! Have fun and I’ll be following your blog to see how it goes!

        Me gusta

Responder

